Arachne

By Arachne

My kind friend K drove the last ten chunks of greenhouse-base concrete to the Recycling Centre today. To celebrate next week being my first week in 15 for me not to be hauling garden rubble there, I dug some more rusty nails out of the ground.

This evening, 30 of us gathered in a pub to mark a dear ex-colleague having left an organisation we have all been employed by or volunteered in during his ten years there. It's a stressful organisation in which to work but doing superb work supporting refugees and I met many people there whom I like and admire. It was brilliant to see some of them again. But three good, solid employees have left at very short notice over the last few weeks and it seems the only one left who was there when I retired from there will probably not last much longer.

Loads of hugs and contact details exchanged this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.