Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

New and old

I had already replaced my tripod last year, but lately the Kirk ballhead also started acting weird so that had to be replaced as well. The main problem is that the panning function is not working, unless I bring a tool to loosen the screw. The knob can only be used to lock the head so it doesn’t pan, but I cannot use it to loosen it up again. For that I need to take the knob off and use a tool to loosen it so it pans again. I’ve gotten nearly 13 years of use out of the Kirk ballhead and that’s impressive in my opinion.

Today the new head arrived. The new setup is now not only more compact, but also a bit less heavy. I'd say the gear is now ready for our trip to the Lake District in December!

Since both the old tripod and old head are still somewhat functional, I’ve decided to keep them around as spares.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.