Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Luke the Evangelist

Our church was dressed in rich red today, as we celebrated the “patronal festival” of St Luke to whom it is dedicated as our patron. The actual Feast of St Luke fell on Friday this year, but we don’t have a service on Fridays so we marked it today with hymns, readings and sermon reflecting his skills and his evangelism. Luke wrote 27.5% of the New Testament, the largest contribution by a single author - researching and compiling one of the four Gospels and also writing the Acts of the Apostles, his account of how the early Christians spread their message across the Roman Empire. He is the patron saint of, among others, physicians and artists, being noted as a painter and a medic himself.

I managed to unpack one removal box this afternoon, which I suppose is better than none. I will do another one tomorrow morning. Having forgotten about doing a blip while I was out and about, I give you another bit of my multi-coloured birthday flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.