Cairistiona

By Cairistiona1

To pick or not to pick...

Well, I did! The mushroom I blipped yesterday had almost doubled in size by this morning. Now larger than my hand, I thought about going out and taking more pictures of it in situ. However, it had lost much of the lovely chestnut coloured texture it had yesterday, so I picked it and brought it inside to take a look at the gills. This architectural shot is one of the photos that emerged.

So, now that I have blipped for the day, I'm off for the first bass lesson in about 18 months. I go to a place in Dundee that's primarily used by teenagers and young adults and I do get some funny looks from time to time, but not nearly as many as I get when people see me walking around with the bass in the street. Strapped to my back it either causes guys to stare, I had one come up to me in the university library and ask me what kind of guitar it was, or the older generation (mine) throw me a very disapproving look and swiftly get out of my way.

Being what is referred to in today's PC society as vertically challenged, I don't normally intimidate people, so I must admit I quite enjoy this notoriety. It does have it's drawbacks though. Staff in posh shops treat you very differently too. Won't mention any names, but some have been quite rude when I've been dressed in a metal t-shirt and had my bass with me. It's a striking contrast to the times when I've gone in wearing office clothes. Try it sometime, it's quite amusing. In fact, it would be a good trick for a dual blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.