Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Moving the Mail

Blake had a fitful night last night, which meant we all did. He paced around, tried out both couches (we could tell because he knocked all the pillows off both of them) and was on the rug next to our bed when Spike decided to make the switch from the couch to our bed. Spike wouldn't jump up with Blake on his 'launch pad'. Tonight we're going to try and convince spike to go to bed with us when we do so that we can close the door with Bake on the other side of it!

He was still restless, pacing around, and going in and out the dog door. I was worried about him because he has a history of collapsing for no reason that the vets can figure out. He was taking antibiotics for ages because every time they stopped them he would start collapsing again. They have fairly recently decided to take him off them again, and he has been doing fine, but the pacing was worrying me.

It finally developed that John had forgotten to feed him in the morning. How he managed that is a mystery to me, but as he says, 'my whole like is a mystery to me'. We fed him and he has settled down, digging himself a little hollow in one of the gravel beds fed by a dripper outside, and lying down in it.

I followed Dana and Jim to Santiago on my phone and caught them in a taxi going to their hotel. After a short hop to LAX and a 16 hour flight to 
Santiago they still seemed to be going strong. 

I had to go to the Western Farm Supply to see if they carried the gel drops we put in Spike's eyes. I ordered some from Amazon but didn't notice that the delivery date was not until next week. They didn't have the gel drops but the drive to Railroad Square yielded all kinds of 'movement'.
Just as I pulled into the parking lot by the train station, the SMART train went by,* and the mail carrier pulled up in her truck, put her mail bag over her shoulder, spent some time with her back to me loading items into the bag and then headed off to deliver the letters. 

I didn't catch the helicopter as it landed on the roof of the hospital, or the parking enforcement vehicle somewhat creepily  bristling with cameras driving around the parking lot with the much hated parking meters. 

I thought just for old times' sake I'd go into what was once Flying Goat Coffee for a quick cup and a vegan snack, for that is what it has become, but as it has been closed every time I've tried to go in there and was so today, I came home and made myself a sandwich.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.