simonsblips

By simonslife

Wednesday

In a somber mood for much of today.
2 hours in heavy mist absorbing the wonderful creativity of nature in surrounding fields and woodland, was mindful as always. Dippy seems to be almost ready to enter the qualifiers for the pheasant catching olympics!
Nearing “home” we/I lost his favourite ball on a rope up a large elm tree and so it’s going to have to be sheep and pheasants from now on.
The sun poked out of the clouds and gave me the opportunity to take everything out of Amadeus and air it.
I also cleaned the car and some of the green algae from difficult areas of Amadeus. I seemed to have lost my favourite (most comfortable) shoes and ended up emptying the whole van looking for them.
Vivian’s school friend made the effort to find me and with kindness wish us well and to say her goodbyes, I wished her a safe journey back home to Hertfordshire.
I suddenly remembered that I had given Lorraine my shoes together with some dry clothes for after the trip home from Lundy island!! This was confirmed with a short conversation with Lorraine
A quick lunch before driving along the newly constructed link road to South Molton to try on some second hand wellington boots, the lady was selling them on behalf of her son. New these boots would have cost anything from £180 to £500!!! (Extra, can you spot the odour quality control officer?)
Anyway £30 and 5 minutes later they were in the boot and I was on my way back to the site. Dippy agreed that I should try them out, he suggested that we take a long walk in pheasant land! I popped in to say hi to Vivian who had taken in my hand washing and hung it over her Aga,. Looked tired after looking after her visitor for the past couple of days.
The walk was equally as enjoyable as this morning but in glorious golden sunlight enhancing everything God has created. We sat down by the pond (main) for half an hour and pondered (pun not originally intended) I whittled down the rough parts of my newly cut walking staff whilst Dippy dashed around chasing imaginary creatures at breakneck speeds.
Darkness had descended as the last of my chicken stew was ready for supper before it was time for bed after a long day and fitful sleep the previous night.
Zzzzzz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.