Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Another timetable failure…

After Archie and I had a walk round the Links, I did a bit more sorting of drawers full of junk odds and ends. I moved them all to the hall cupboard. JR, when she came home, did not see the point of this exercise. So, not really ‘sorted’ then…

She then went into town, to get some HK $ and BK baht. And to find maybe another top for me, suitable for evening wear. I still have the ones I had on my last cruise, which will do fine.

I rang to make an appointment at the vet for Archie - his regular wee five minute embarrassing procedure before his holidays. ((£29.50 please - it’s gone up again).

Our appointment was for 2.30. I don’t know what happened- I’ve definitely got a block where timings are concerned - we turned up a whole hour early!!! (Which is much better than being late).

The King’s Buildings University campus is opposite, so we checked on the map (it’s a huge area), saw where a cafe was, and wandered round. We sat out in the sun while I had a coffee and watched all the bright young things coming and going. This little Tuk Truk (clever name, I thought) van caught our eye.

The bus back home happened to be coming along when we were near the stop so we hopped on. Actually, we didn’t hop - the driver didn’t lower the bus, so it was higher than usual. Archie does not like that, so I had to sort of drag him up. The driver said, ‘Aha, he’s seen my driving!’

Oddly enough, I began to assure him that it was the height of the step up, not his driving, that made Archie unwilling to climb aboard, and he was not to take it personally…

He must have thought I was nuts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.