Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

In training for our Vietnam trip!

Archie and I walked round to Bruntsfield to visit the SMAP (Scottish Medical Aid for Palestine) fundraiser. Salwa, my friend, was in charge today, so she said that Archie was allowed to come. She knows he's a well behaved dog (most of the time). I bought some small Palestinian treats and a cuppa and chatted to a very nice lady. Archie stood quietly under the table. But two other little yappy dogs barked at him when we were walking around.

It was such a lovely day - we've had quite a lot of them this autumn - that we walked round the Links on the way back. Archie was going out for the day with Elizabeth later anyway.

Once he'd gone off with Elizabeth, we set set off down town. We had booked last week PHO, a Vietnamese restaurant that is always mobbed! And so it was today (everywhere was, being a sunny Saturday), but luckily there are so many eatery choices in the St James Quarter. We had a very good seat by the window and away from the crowds. We had baby octopus first, then we both had a couple of ethnic dishes. I had a curry, which I enjoyed, but I really wouldn't want to eat that kind of hot spicy food every day...

I came home after the meal, but JR went to browse a bit more. She picked up a couple of wee things for me. I like having a personal shopper!

I also like - no, LOVE - when the bus arrives as soon as I'm at the bus stop. Buses are RAMMED all day, every day, all the time. JR had to go upstairs this morning.

In the afternoon, I was expecting our neighbour over with his tools to fix our sticking boiler cupboard door. He arrived with a huge tool bag - promising! And he had a brilliant tool, just adding a wee sharp bit to his battery pack, which peeled away a few slivers of wood, with minimum effort, rendering the door normal again in a flash! He was rewarded with a one of the last jars of JR's apple chutney - they have been quite a hit.

This time next week, we'll be able to say, 'We go on holiday tomorrow!.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.