Brendie

By Brendie

Portrait of the artist

My niece persuaded me to take her to photograph an abandoned building after work as she was scared to go on her own. This is her exercising her art.

For me the photo is the final work, for her it's the first stage of inspiration that will end up as a textile - quite fascinating.

FOR THOSE OF YOU INTERESTED IN THIS GRADE A LISTED BUILDING...
This is St Peter's Seminary in Cardross. It has an absolutley fascinating history and is one of the most enjoyable places to visit - even in its current state. This little video gives a good account of the story of the building.

I know a teacher who worked in it, and said that, as the architects were bringing dignitaries round in the late 60s to marvel at the design, he was putting out buckets in classrooms to catch the rain from the leaking roof!

Here is an old Flickr set showing the beauty of the building as it was in the late 1960s.

Here are more of the photos I snapped on my visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.