ScarletMonkey

By ScarletMonkey

Siem Reap

It's really a city of two halves. As we drove in there were tonnes of incredibly expensive hotels and posh shops and restaurants, all here because of the temples. There's also a great market, bars and restaurants. It made me think that maybe things in Cambodia have recovered really well.

Then we visited a project in one of the slums and I got to know the other side. I'd heard of the Khmer Rouge but had no idea of the extent of the genocide. Afterwards there were fewer than 30 teachers and 6 doctors left in the entire country.

The guy at New Hope told us about mothers selling their children into the sex trade as they can't support them and young boys being thrown overboard on fishing ships after being promised wages. The government is aware and yet does nothing. Around 90% of the population is in poverty.

New Hope are a project trying to educate the local youngsters and they sponsor some families so the kids don't have to work. They also have outreach and medical facilities. It was really inspiring meeting the people making a difference and seeing a class in another country. I got very angry at one point when I thought of the attitudes of some of my students. They have no idea how good they've got it. It has strengthened my resolve to do some volunteering abroad.

Khmer people are incredibly friendly and welcoming. This guy was more than happy to pose as I stuck my camera out of a tuk tuk.

New food tried: Cambodian curry, Morning glory and crickets. The crickets were OK, not convinced they're a new favourite, especially as I ate mine whole before being told you had to peel them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.