BJH

By BJH

Sunbathing Heron

This Heron was doing a spot of sunbathing on the island in the middle of the small pond at the park when Kuzey and I walked past it on this very warm afternoon.

When I stopped at the artificial island on the way home the Great Crested Grebe's nest was empty so it looks like all 4 eggs must have hatched. One of the adults was floating on the water not far from the nest but it was very difficult to get any decent shots of it because I had to point the camera in the direction of the sun for that. I did manage to take a couple of not so great photos in which I could spot the heads of 2 of the chicks on its back but it was impossible to tell though whether it was also carrying any of the other two grebelets.

Last night we had some thunder and lightening. Eventually we also had some rain. I'd hoped that the temperature would have dropped a little today but unfortunately it was just as hot again as the previous days and I've been melting as usual. The only difference was that the little wind that we had today was slightly cooler than it had been yesterday.

Thank you so much for the kind comments and stars on yesterday's Great Crested Grebe blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.