MShelley

By MShelley

Fossils exhibition

I was at the Royal Society in London today for an event. I noticed that they had an exhibition on fossils. So, after my event ended, I went to see the fossils exhibition. Some pictures of the entrance to the Royal Society building and the exhibition are here.

This blip shows the exhibit on Mary Anning. Her painting, loaned from the National History Museum, was a part of this exhibit and which is shown in this blip. I found her details fascinating: she was a self-educated woman with no formal scientific training and who went on to become the greatest fossil hunter ever known. One of the fossils that she discovered was also a part of this exhibit.

Mary Anning has been named by the Royal Society as the third most influential female scientist in British history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.