JohnMcCannLearn

By StillLearning

Ankara Metro

We use the excellent Ankara Metro service to travel to and from the office.

When I first entered the metro station, the sound which struck me was a continuous series of clicks as folks passed through the barriers. There was very little conversation going on; just folk quietly going about their business. It is the same on the platforms and in the trains.

It is a bit like being in a library - a respectful quietness. Going to work is a quite meditative experience.

One thing I have noticed here - a high degree of awareness of the needs of others. For example, on the metro, seats are willingly given up if the need of others seem greater. I've seen plenty of young people give up their seat for a mature woman.

The elderly have no difficulty in getting a seat.

Tonight someone gave up their seat for me. Despite my protestations, they insisted. A new experience for me. I like to think it was because I was a stranger in town. But maybe .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.