Counting butterflies

Today has been another beautiful day - warm and sunny, fluffy clouds. I did a walk I've been meaning to do since we moved: walking from our house to the village of Bradfield and back - about a 5 mile round trip, out via the Sheffield Country Walk which passes our house and takes you along tracks and footpaths via fields, meadows and small patches of heathland and woodland, then back along the road. There were some spectacular views along the way, and I really must get out there with landscape photography equipment at the best time of day (early morning I suspect). I stopped about half way round to do a 15 minute butterfly count, but there were so many around today, it could have been anywhere en route. this one is a small heath - small and easily overlooked so I was glad to include it in my count. My full list includes:
small tortoiseshell
small skipper
meadow brown
large white
small white
green-veined white,
red admiral
ringlet
gatekeeper
small heath
6 spotted burnet and Silver Y day-flying moths

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.