Family Dog

By Family_Dog

Dogs in Tree

Today we got the keys for the NEW HOUSE! Exactly 21 weeks from the day we walked in as viewers, we finally walk in as owners.

It was a strange feeling - the deal has fallen through so many times I'd convinced myself I hated the house as a safety precaution. Now it's ours I can't work out how I feel about it.

Actually, that's not true. I'm glad it's ours, but I'm sad that I don't have that excited energy that comes from such a momentous event. I mean, I get that from buying a pair of shoes so its weird not to get it with buying an actual house.

I have a feeling that for once I've actually made a massive life decision based entirely on practicalities, rather than impulse and emotion.

Yeeeeuuuuch. It's so unlike me I'm feeling very robotic about the whole thing. Still. Even if it has been purely robotics driving this thing forward, I've got a pretty decent house at the end of it and the kids have got a crazy looking apple tree to scramble around in so things aren't too bad at all.

We spent a couple of hours sitting in the garden tonight, trying to work out what we've got growing in there. Other than the apple tree and a few thistles on the lawn, I don't have a bloody clue. We need to work out the light over the next couple of months but we've already spotted the bits for growing veggies, the bits for fruit, the herb garden area and where the BBQs and fire pit will live.

Yeah, actually, reading that back I'm feeling pretty excited actually. Maybe I'm not a robot after all. There's a sentence I never thought I'd ever type!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.