Church Road, Waterloo

Went to nana's again tonight, but as always, I had to stop off and take some photos. Went to the Seaforth end (docks at Bootle) of Anthony Gormley's "Another Place" installation and decided I really didn't have the time to walk to the beach. I took a few shots of the boating lake, but they need sorting through, so they'll be uploaded tomorrow.

Whilst there, I noticed 2 blocks of flats behind the car park that are all scaffolded up, ready for demolition I think. I recall my cousin saying something about them being sacrificed.

Not something I would usually be bothered about, except for the fact that my Grandma and Grandad Hebdon lived in one of these flats when we were much younger.

Sadly, I didn't really have that much time with my Grandparents on my Dad's side. I believe that my Grandad could be a bit of a tinker!!! I remember their dog, Butch. I think he was actually Butch Mark 2 - the original Butch the dog was one for drinking grandads tea whilst he was letting it cool. I also remember a big blue and white striped mug that Grandad had his tea out of. And an electronic organ/keyboard in the hallway that Chris and I used to love to play wildly dischordant tunes on. Grandma I remember as being quite frail/dainty, quietly spoken. I know my Dad has a photo of Grandma when she was much younger which bears an uncanny resemblance to me.

It made me a little sad seeing the flats like this. Maybe the sadness was more to do with not having had the chance to get to know them as well as I think I would have liked, now I am older.

Makes me grateful though that James does have a great relationship with all of his grandparents.

In other news...

went to my Osteopath today ...maintenance visit really. I wonder whether the loud crack that I heard in my head when Melissa manipulated my neck was actually as loud as I thought it was. There's something deeply satisfying and terrifying at the same time when you place your neck in the hands of someone who moves it in directions that seem relatively ridiculous. I am sore now, but after a decent sleep, I will feel 100 times better in the morning. Thanks Melissa (if you read this) and congratulations on your news too. I'm dead excited for you :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.