Collecting Moments

By AudreyJ

Eyes

Part of the Heartfreek July Challenge!

These eyes are of my children, they tell me so much, I can look into them and know how they are feeling, without them saying one word. I love my children's eyes, they mean so much.

Through Your Eyes a poem by Suzanne Eichman

Through your eyes I see the stars so bright, the moon, and the darkness of night.
I see butterflies and flowers that dance in the breeze.
I see the wind as it blows, and the leaves fall, the newness of snow, the glory of it all.
All of this so day to day, but through your eyes it all seems new. So when life starts to get me down, and things start to give me trouble...through your eyes I'll look, my child.
For you see life like no other.

I'm sure many parents will relate to that poem - I know I do

We all know how important eyes are, some people realise it more that others. A few years back my nephew, when he was just a few months old, was diagnosed with Retinoblastoma (Rb) which is a rapidly developing cancer that develops from the immature cells of a retina, the light-detecting tissue of the eye and is the most common malignant tumor of the eye in children. It was a very traumatic experience and a long suffering time for the family and hard decisions were made. Sadly he eventually lost one of his eyes to the disease, and had to learn to cope with all that comes with that but he is about to turn 16 in a few days and he's fit and healthy, and for that we're all very grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.