As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

Munchy Marathon V

The dreaded day has finally arrived: The Munchy Marathon V. I was anxious all morning and wouldn't eat anything. I picked Timmy up a little after 11 to head to Valenski's house before the race. We picked up our awesome tank tops (I'm sure you'll see it soon enough) and talked to everyone there about how much it was going to suck. Avery and Liz came to take pictures of us and I love them. We all walked over around 12:00 to the start of the race. It must have been quite the spectacle to watch almost 40 kids walking across Sunrise Highway with pink Solo cups that had milkshakes in them.

The race began and the milkshakes were downed. Not nearly as bad as I was expecting; the ice cube really threw me for a loop though. Timmy and I had made a pact to stay together for the race, but that fell apart as soon as I realized I drank my milkshake way faster than him.

We ran for a bit to the next station: eating a donut and drinking a glass of milk. I was surprised to see Frazer (Dave) and his kids their helping out. I realized that dipping the donut in the milk made it go down much easier, so I was out of that station pretty quick.

Some more running and then it was time for the warm Coke and Cinnabon. Surprisingly, I didn't mind this one too much, even though I never drink soda. Timmy had a tough time with this one...but he made it out.

Just before the halfway point, I started to hardcore gag, but nothing would come up. I accidentally ran a little past the turn around point, but I saw Bianca turn around and figured it out. I passed Timmy on the way back and he wasn't too happy about that.

The Munchy Marathon is a BYOB event (Bring Your Own Broom), and those were used in the Broom Game. You put the broom (sweepy part up) against your forehead, spin around 30 times, and then put the broom down and jump over it. I got into an awesome rhythm with the spins, but I nearly knocked down an innocent bystander when I tried to jump over it. No regrets.

From then on, it was a normal 5k (aside from the disgusting amount of food [hopefully] still in your stomach). I had to stop and gag a few more times, which cost me a lot of time. I wish I had just been able to puke it up.

Unfortunately for me, all that time spent almost puking allowed Timmy to make up the distance I put between us. It ended up being a photo finish (as usual) between us. He got me by a second, but that won't happen next year.

I came in 27th out of 38 runners with a time of 24:36. I'll take it for my first appearance, but mark my words, it won't be my last.

After the closing ceremony back at Valenski's house, Timmy and I ran a few more miles to finish out our day's run. I dropped him off at home and then went home to clean up before Perri's graduation party.

I had a ton of fun at Perri's party. We talked about vomit a lot, and Jaclyn gained a new best friend. The hours flew by, and before I knew it, I had to start heading home. I drove Jess home and now here I am, blipping about my awesome day. Who knows what tomorrow will bring?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.