DougMacAyr

By DougMacAyr

New things

When I said I wanted to do new things now that I am living alone I wasn't thinking of this.

We had many vacum cleaners over the years. My wife had an informal role as a Dyson test driver. She wore them out faster than the factory tests. When I set up on my own last year I needed to buy a vacum cleaner so I just went to the supermarket and bought a Vax. Good quality machines they said. Last you for years they said. It cleaned ok but it felt like pushing a tank with a lettuce leaf. Changing direction needed the planning of a supertanker and the strength of Helcules. I used it twice and then paid the extra money to buy this machine.

He looks mean and moody. Probably because he does not get out as often as he wants. But when we are out together he is a joy. He gobbles up all the stuff I don't want to see on the floor and sooks away the dusty bits on the furniture too. He is a pal really and I don't think he will be replaced in my house ever.

It is funny the new things you learn. Some by choice some by necessity. The Vax I really couldn't give to anyone or I would have felt responsible for sprained wrists forever. He was "recycled". Maybe I made a skip raiders day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.