ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Belgian Chocolates!

Went to Brugge / Bruges yesterday, a leisurely 2-hour drive past Antwerp and Ghent (think Holy Roman Emperor Charles V, not Charlemagne). The first time I went to Brugge was in 1996 in connection with my then-ongoing genealogical research into hubby's ancestors; the Brugge connection turned out to be a red herring, which was just as well, as I otherwise might have had to go to northern France. The second time was about a couple years later, with hubby; I can hardly recall anything about that trip except for the fact that I couldn't finish the rather humongous portion of pasta they served me for lunch. This time around, I tried to recall what I saw then, and could not, although I did find the archives again, which was of course irrelevant. I just wanted to enjoy more of the summer.

I am not a choc fanatic, which, I think, was what saved me, because if you had seen what I saw and entered the various shops with me, you would have opened both your eyes and your purse without hesitation. If you must know, my favourite chocs come from Breda! If you ever visit, I will show you where.

Altogether a glorious day! Not too warm, and sunny till late, so I came home long before the sun set, after which came dinner and the 'usual' evening stroll with hubby. 'Usual' because it just began recently. According to the forecast, the next heat wave will hit on Thursday and continue through the weekend. Sounds good!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.