Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

An auspicious meeting

Off to meet my Professor this morning. And that's a sentence I've never written before. I shall use it again. My Endocrine Professor expressed an urge to meet me and ask me all about my ailments, so interesting are they to him...

Anyway, on the bus out, my bones, and indeed almost every bit of me - even bits that don't usually wobble - were rattled around so much on our pot-holed roads they almost caused giggles. Once the bus leaves the city for the relatively open road and not many stops, it goes at a great rate of knots, with every door, window, hinge rattling, crashing and creaking. At least it drowns out the inevitable person droning on and on a cellphone.

I shut my eyes to 'enjoy' the ride all the more. And it reminded me of the last time I'd been rattled so much my insides wobbled. Several years ago we had get fit craze (which didn't last), and in a moment of madness, joined a 'Ladies of Leisure' club. The hint was in the name, come to think of it.

One of their specialities for 'Ladies of Extreme Leisure' were beds, upon which you lay down, and were shoogled and vibrated (for want of a better word) until your eyeballs were rolling around. In this way, we were assured, we would lose weight. By doing nothing!! We tried it a couple of times before we came to our senses. If that was true, you could sit on Edinburgh buses all day and be shoogled down to your optimum weight in no time! I can see the headlines now - New Edinburgh Bus Diet!

Anyway, I fell in love with my Prof. A handsome young man. Well, forties. As I said - young. He had a lovely sonorous voice and blue eyes, and was obviously fascinated to hear every wee detail of my aches and pains. What's not to love? The fact that he was sitting between me and a sunny window, so he had a glow around the edges, and his face was in shadow, may have made me appear to be peering quizzically, possibly at his nose, but he was too polite to say.

He declared that my aches and pains are caused by either

a) Underactive thyroid
b) Vitamin D deficiency
c) A combination of both
d) None of the above, but the onset of arthritis.

I don't mind which of the first three it is!

He put me straight on to the thyroid pills that the doctors have been telling me it's not bad enough for yet. Hopefully I can get the prescription today, before I head off on holiday. He sent me for a knee xray. The old knees may need replacing, but that's years down the track, he assured me.

Popped in to see Uncle A and bring a few things he needed and wish him luck. Next time I see him he'll be back in his own home and in charge of his remote again.

Popped back round to the loch from yesterday for a wee drive and to see if the cygnets were near the side. They were. One even obliged with a wee flap, so you can see the teeny tiny feathers on the edge of the wing. And the downy feathers on his back.

Off to Ireland tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.