Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Feeding frenzy

Well, I've learned something this summer with all this butterfly chasing - thistles have to be just about the butterfly's favourite source of nectar. The other thing I've learned is that you can get 3 of them on one flower head (like here). Then the interesting thing is watching the interaction, they really like chasing each other off, and when a bee comes along they all flutter up, only to bomb him a few seconds later. All good fun in the regular insect life.

Oh, yes, and... I knew there was a third thing - did you know, when butterflies take off they can tip backwards upside down? I have at least 3 rather blurry shots to prove it!

So these are my first whites blipped this year, in a quiet corner of an oilseed rape field. Plenty of sun, also plenty of wind. I really should have stuck to Plan A, which was landscape, but that's the trouble with plans..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.