Rie Rie

Today was a very sad day as Jen's family black Labrador, Marie, passed away. She was just the perfect dog, and more importantly, friend to all that met her.

I decided to blip a carrot today as she loved a good crunchy carrot to chomp on after her walk in the morning. She would go to town on it making sure she got every last bit of it!

Before I met Rie Rie (the nickname Jen gave when the family first got her) I was terrified of all dogs after a couple of bad experiences as a kid. But Marie was so kind and gentle and showed me there was nothing to be scared of. She was so kind and affectionate and would always let you know when she wanted a cuddle.

I wanted to share with you my favourite picture of Rie Rie - here - taken when I first joined Jen's family on their annual summer trip to London way back in 2005. I remember it was so warm and with her black fur she was getting very warm so we had to buy her a white t-shirt! Not the coolest look in the world but it did the trick!

Marie was originally training as a guide dog but wanted to sniff everything too much. I know we will always see her face in the guide dogs we see. After all, they will be her brothers, sisters, nieces and nephews!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.