Purple Magpie

By PurpleMagpie

Singing for my supper

The road to my current life has been a long and convoluted one.

I have always sang. I have always been absorbed by and love music. I have an internal natural understanding of it and can play most instruments by ear (as long as I know how to make the notes). I also suspect I have good pitch. I often don't need a pitch pipe at choir I just sort of know where it goes.

Anyway. Never did I think I could earn money doing it.

I can remember working in one of my early jobs and there was a sign on the wall which said....

"If you could do anything for your job what would it be?" I can remember thinking I would like to be paid to sing. A throwaway thought that I shrugged off and stepped away from.

That was 2003. I finally realised my ambition in 2010. I sang with my barbershop quartet and we were paid. As a soloist it came a few months later.

I do more than sing for money now I teach and share and hopefully inspire x I also still do voluntary stuff and always will. When I first started teaching I literally did a whole year of work for nothing.

I will never be rich and now I struggle with a balance between fun/work . Today I sang three songs at a wedding and it was lovely x I really enjoyed it.

I tend to work word of mouth for wedding singing so I wonder when the next one will be x

I know I will never be Beyonce or the lovely Katherine Ellis on blip (loving that new song) but I consider myself incredibly lucky.

I am really lucky

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.