Bass rock.

I have known C1 for years. We met at a Ceildh class in Bruntsfield. I think I know her quite well. She knows me very well. She once called me 'The Original Skip Rat'.

For my birthday she gave me a journal called 'The Pocket Scavenger'. On each page there is a simple challenge to find a small object and to write up the details in the Journal.

As a perfect accompanyment to this today we went to North Berwick and walked along the beach with the intention of collecting rubbish.

We found all the usual crap. Bottles, fishing line, bits of plastic from identifiable and unidentifiable sources. Then came the best find of the day. An abandoned tent. One of those cheap pop-up festival tents, ripped ragged and out of shape. It was stuck in some rocks.

I started trying to get the thing loose when C1 said;

'If you pull that guy rope free the wind will blow it down the beach.'

So I pulled the guy rope free and the wind snatched it out of my hand and the tent bounced off down the sand like that white balloon out of 'The Prisoner'. Wish I'd had my camera out. Predictably it landed in the water and sank.

An hilarious ten minutes later we had it out of the water and folded up into a large circular wad of wet nylon. Which kept wanting to pop back into shape again. Between us we got it back to North Berwick and gave it to the council...

Brilliant day, ice cream, sunshine, good company, and a nice new journal to put all my 'CanCarrier's lost and Found Emporium' gleanings in.

Thanks C1

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.