No more waiting

I didn't get a chance to have a birthday party last week when we were away but Mummy and Daddy had a special party for me today instead. I got to fill the room with colourful balloons and Mummy had made me a special birthday cake. We all laughed, sang and ate LOTS of cake ... it was definitely worth waiting for!


"Mom said it's coming. I'll watch down the street.
Don't know what it looks like, but I bet it's neat.
It must have ten wheels painted blue, green, and pink,
and be driven by clowns. At least, that's what I think.
I bet that it shines like the sun on a lake.
I've heard it brings parties with ice cream and cake.
I hope when it comes it brings children to play.
My dad said it's coming. It's coming today!
It's too much excitement. I'm getting all numb
as I watch down the street for my birthday to come."

(Robert Pottle - Waiting)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.