Waiting

I was up at 7:30 a.m. I know I was shocked too! My daughter had a craft show to work and I was on babysitting duty for my granddaughter today. I knew I would have her from about 8:30 -5 p.m. so I guess my internal alarm clock went off.
My granddaughter can usually sleep late and I figured when my daughter brought her to me that she would go back to sleep for a little while. Nope, that did not happen. I thought perhaps that she would nap during the day. Nope, that did not happen either. It is now 10 p.m. and I can barely keep my eyes open. One sweet, 2 ½ year old has worn me out! I gave her a bath at one point after we had a little ‘accident’ with the squeezable yogurt. I cut the top and handed it to her. She usually enjoys them. I went into the kitchen to get my cup of coffee and I hear “Mimi, I made a mess.” I look over and she had squeezed the entire yogurt all over the couch throw blanket, the rug and herself. It took seconds!!
We painted, we watched TV, played with toys, she had a bath and it was only 12 noon! Oh the bath, water everywhere….on me, on the floor and with great effort, not on her face! I kept handing her paper towels to wipe her face if any water dripped from her hair and she kept dropping the paper towels into the tub. It looked like she was sitting in a load of whites in a washing machine!
She finally did fall asleep…at 5:15 p.m.
The photo I used in my Blip today is our dog Max. This is his spot whenever he is waiting for us to come home. We pull up in the car and his eyes are peering through the little glass pane in the door. My husband is away on business and I swear he is waiting for him to come home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.