Bumps in the Road

By JimJ

Rocking the boat

Last night was the first time I managed to get the wee man to sleep without first nursing him in my arms. I usually rock him for anywhere between 5-30 minutes before laying him down in his cot. However, last night I tried something new. Rather than waiting for his head to become heavy, I placed him straight in his cot, rubbed his chest and gentle sang to him. To be honest, I wasn't holding out much hope but the wee man surprised me with his peace and tranquillity. When he finally had enough of his old man's attention, he simply rolled away from me and slept on his side. I'm not sure if this is the start of something new, or simply a one-off. If it's the way of things to come, I'll miss our waltz before bed. I can't believe he's growing up...

Here's a picture from lunch today, when we met up with Luna, Josef and their boy Max. Max is about six weeks younger than Ernie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.