Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Bring me my steel-cut oats

My recent visit to Portland OR introduced me to three new, unforgettable delights. In no particular order they are: 1) my blipfriend Kendallishere, 2) Lovejoy Bakers, and 3) steel cut oatmeal.

For someone who eats as ravenously as I do, devouring nearly everything in my path, I was surprised, during my Portland visit, to learn that oatmeal comes in different shapes and sizes. Who knew!?

Steel cut oats are the least processed type of oat cereal. The toasted oat groats (the groat is the hulled, toasted oat grain) are simply chopped into chunks about the size of a sesame seed. With "regular" rolled oats, the toasted groats are steamed and then run between rollers to create flakes. The enhanced flavor and texture of steel cut is far superior to rolled oats, in my humble opinion. They do take considerably longer to cook, but it's well worth the extra time. I will never go back to rolled oats.

Lovejoy Bakers serves a bowl of steel cut oatmeal that is sweet and creamy, light, with a texture akin to rice pudding. Topped off with a crisp creme brulee crust it is heaven in a bowl and a wonderful way to start your day.

I happened to have steel cut oatmeal for breakfast this morning, and so it is with great joy that I read that kendallishere was at Lovejoy's dining on a bowl of their oatmeal at perhaps the very same moment this morning!

Nutrition-wise, there is little, if any difference between steel-cut and rolled oats; they're both equally good for you. But in terms of flavor and texture, I give steel cut oats two thumbs up!

Yummy in my tummy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.