Big Butterfly Count

I managed to get out to do some serious counting for the
Big Butterfly Count 2013 which goes on until August 11th.

I went to Christian Fields - a lovely small local nature reserve just off the Eastern Avenue north of Lichfield.

There were hundreds. (not an exaggeration). Near the car park the place was full of whites. I took quite a few photos and have established that there were lots of green veined and small whites and a few large whites. My counting was inevitably approximate but will be useful I hope.

There were lots of peacock butterflies on the buddleias as you first enter the area - and looking closely, I managed to see (and photograph) a small tortoiseshell, a meadow brown, a ringlet, three gatekeepers and three commas.

I chose the Gatekeeper photo because I liked the smooth and gentle effect. I've never had so many butterfly photos to choose from !!

My steamer saga ?
I bought a wonderful steamer for the floors (and everywhere else) but after four big blitzes, it stopped working. I rang Vax (as it asks you to in the brochure) who sent out some spare bits and wouldn't believe me when I described what it was not doing. I then went back to John Lewis after the new bits didn't help. They accepted it and then contacted Vax who wouldn't deal with them but wanted to deal with me ! I had to go back and collect the item.
Eventually, Vax sent me a form. They wanted me to detach an important label and fill in the form. Form OK. Important label wouldn't come off. I cut myself. Twice.
So, being a good blipper, I took a photo and included that with the form.
Vax said it wasn't good enough as the label was unique and the necessary proof (if it's so important why would it come off anyway ?)
I got fed up and went back to John Lewis a fourth time. They were very helpful and eventually managed to get the label off.
I've now sent the label to Vax....... and I'm waiting. Not my idea of customer service :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.