WeeChris

By WeeChris

Common Blue Butterfly

I think this is a female common blue butterfly, which actually appears mainly brown from above and rather speckled when the wings are closed (as here). If anyone with more knowledge sees this and knows I'm wrong please let me know (and explain my mistake to me).

Tuesday is my half-day so, after some lunch and a bit of paint-stripping at home, the dogs and I went for a walk on Oare mashes for a change from Blean Wood and Whithall Meadows / Hambrook Marshes which are our more habitual haunts.

Late afternoon, warm but certainly not hot, a bit breezy, so I really wasn't expecting to see butterflies at all. I wish this one had hung around for longer but at least I got one crisp snap. Its what macro lenses were made for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.