Working the Land

What a goofy blip. It's only taken us 26 years to fix this pathway from our driveway to our garden, but that's what I'm working on now. I have only enough carpentry skills to be dangerous, so everything I build is cloaked in danger. Ooooh! So I've waited until the hottest, driest days of the year to chisel into the hillside here to put in a concrete pathway. 94 degrees today...but it's a dry heat.

Kirby in this photo has staked his claim to my new dig. I love old Kirb, but he is a digger. He loves this spot, and now that I have it dug out, he thinks it's really his with the forms around to get his back against and dig his belly into the cool soil. Sorry, Kirb, but you are sadly mistaken. This will be filled with concrete in the next couple of days, but not before tomorrow when we take a boys' day in the mountain in search of waterfalls. Stay tuned for those.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.