From a shaky bridge and badly exposed but I like this spot and blipped it anyways. On my way back I stopped here again and saw a young couple swimming in the pool right under the falls in the green. From here to the suspension bridge it was busy but the trail down the creek from here was very quiet in the evening.

A & H finished their summer reading program which has meant reading every day for seven weeks. Each week they took their reading log to the library and got a stamp and a little prize like stickers or a pen. For me it has meant reading aloud almost every day for seven weeks as Aapo got hooked by the Roald Dahl's and prefers me to read them for him instead of reading by himself. (Which is quite sweet. I bet a year from now he won't be asking anymore and instead correcting my accent like his sisters do.)

As a final reward they got to choose a free book from the library. He picked a picture book about whales. She picked a Magic Treehouse book that she had already read. When the reading program started I have to say I was suspicious about giving external rewards for something that I thought should be of intrinsic value. But it has worked well for both of them and the stories have kept their charm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.