Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Home sweet home

I've always had a fascination with scrapyards. From my early foraging days I've delighted in raking around abandoned vehicles in hedgerows, building sites, woods, in fact anywhere where I might find something that other people have abandoned as useless.

I spent many holidays in the 90's searching out 'stuff' in American scrapyards around North Carolina (Charlotte), South Carolina (Rock Hill) and Nashville (Tenessee). All places where I have friends who share a common interest in NASCAR Racing and country music. I have to add that MrsDB was not impressed by the scrapyard 'fix' and often stayed at home in the UK. Hard to accept but I got over it.

The above is my take on a 1960's UK scrapyard. They've all mainly gone now, H&S and all that regulatory botheration has slowly closed them down. The only one I know of like the above now is a site in a quarry in a remote wood outside of Penrith. It's completely hidden from the road and Google Earth.

I still look for old sites but not in the UK. Australia is still rich with pickings and Google Earth is marvellous for searching them out. You only have to take a look down on Coober Peedy or Lightning Ridge and you'll spot all sorts of wonderful abandonment amongst the bush, dirt and hills.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.