Greygranite1745

By Greygranite1745

The Rodney Stone

Unearthed from Dyke Kirkyard in 1781 the misnamed Rodney Stone is now situated inside the entrance to Brodie Castle. in addition to the Pictish symbols shown in the main picture and the cross on the reverse shown in the extra the stone has, round the sides, the longest known ogham inscription in Scotland which refers to Ethernan, a Celtic Saint. Surely Ethernan's stone would be a more appropriate name for the stone.
Rodney's stone was so named to commemorate  Admiral Rodney's victory in a naval battle against the French earlier in 1781.

Brodie has a huge collection of daffodils - seen in the second extra, the collection was begun  by the 24th Laird of Brodie who succeeded to the title in 1889. The magnificent display now includes over 400 species.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.