The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Pride of Sussex

I have had a lovely day hanging about meadows, just photographing what turns up.
I saw a male and female Silver washed fritillary in an area I have never seen them in before, I found a False ladybird beetle walking on my shirt, and revisited the site I know for Rufous grasshoppers!
In the end though I decided to blip this beautiful, quite unusual and rare plant, Round-headed rampion (Phyteuma orbiculare) also called Pride of Sussex.
Wikipedia describes the flower head as being 'deep blue almost purple and not as it seems: each head , rather than being a single bloom, is actually a collection of smaller ones, huddled close together. Close up it looks rather like a sea amemone about to curl round an unlucky fly'
It flowers from May - August and in the UK is more common on the South Downs than anywhere else, hence the name Pride of Sussex.
Well, I live in Sussex, and I am really proud of this little jem, and am delighted to share it with you.
On another note entirely, am I getting this blip thing right? I search for exciting things to share, comment on comments, and freely comment and give stars and hearts yet still some days I only get one comment!!!
Am I just boring? or just doing it all wrong? :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.