Desert Squirrel

By PolS

Cabbage trees in the mist

I couldn't stay inside this morning, I'm getting cabin fever after yesterday. I had intended to do some more cactus macros, but it actually isn't too bad outside, and I'm interested in what works in mist, and what doesn't.

When we were travelling down the California coast a few weeks ago, I took heaps of shots in mist, especially at Lobos, just south of Monterey (because mist was what we got!). Incidentally, Lobos was also where one of my lenses packed up (diaphragm stuck open, so there were lots of very bright shots). Some colours look OK through mist, lighter colours better than darker ones, I think. Depending on the quality of the mist, there is often insufficient definition with a a telephoto lens, so unfortunately my bird shots looked a bit soft. The lighter coloured night heron looked better than the dark cormorants, though.

Anyway, this morning I've been experimenting with the wide angle, and seeing what I can do in the garden. The cabbage trees make a good, strong silhouette in this light, as in the sunrise the day before yesterday (different trees, though, as we don't see the sunrise from here). And I think the lichen on the rocks gives some lighter foreground elements.

I've intentionally left the fallen cabbage tree leaves exactly as they were. In Lightroom, I've increased the highlights a bit, and added a light vignette. I actually went back a couple of times after checking the images on the computer to try to improve the composition... still my weak point, I think. And this is the last image in the series (so at least I think I'm learning something!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.