OlyShipp

By OlyShipp

Beyond The Veil

I stopped for refreshment on an idyllic cycle ride north on the Oxford Canal.

Whilst my delicious beer was being poured, I noticed a poster by the bar: "Tonight, right here at the Jolly Boatman, "Beyond The Veil: hives… honey… homicide!"

I'm drawn to this kind of chance encounter, so extended my ride so I'd be back for the evening performance. What a good decision!

Fun and engaging, it was expertly played by just four actors on an improvised stage in the beer garden - and cleverly managed to put across an important message about the importance of to our countryside, under the guise of a traditional whodonnit - wonderful!

Chatting to the cast afterwards (it helps when the play's in a pub), I discovered they are the Mikron Theatre Company, who are the only company in the world to tour professional theatre by narrowboat, from their base in Marsden, within walking distance of my home village.

Coming soon to a canalside pub near you - bee there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.