Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

She sells sea shells by the sea shore

"She sells seashells by the seashore,
The shells she sells are seashells, I'm sure.
So if she sells seashells on the seashore,
Then I'm sure she sells seashore shells."


So goes the nursery rhyme. Apparently about a real seashell seller named Mary Anning (1799 – 1847). Mary Anning was more than a seashell seller. She collected fossils and contributed important information about prehistoric life to the scientific community. She supported herself selling fossils to geologists and to tourists. So there.

This is the crop I collected yesterday at Seacliff Beach. As some may have noticed, I like photographing on the shore, but this was actually an experiment in using remote flash and a light tent. Shot at home. I hate to say it again, but this definitely benefits from being viewed large.

Nikon D800 + 50mm f1.8 prime + tripod + Nikon SB700 + light tent

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.