But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Beast.

Today's the day the 24 hour race starts, and the weather is decidedly cool after the heat wave of the past few weeks. I went back to Hildegard’s for breakfast and, on the way back to the camp passed a hairdresser's inviting men to walk in. I walked in and, by the time I walked out again I had no hair. Mrs TD won't like it but I'm allowed as a special concession to the race. For the rest of the morning I had to endure teasing about the haircut.

The weather is suddenly cool so the expected roasting this afternoon may not occur. I now have to quietly prepare feeds, drinks and clothing changes to be taken to the bag drop about twenty miles down the road at Prees, I will be passing every few hours during the race so should never want for anything other than fresh legs. Apart from that, I shall be taking it easy, chatting with old friends and then fuelling up ready for the off. Then there will be the last minute panic because I can't find something without which I will not survive the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.