Restraint

Apart from the occasional comment on twitter, regular posts on the Edinburgh bike forum, a couple of comments on their blog and regular ranting at Mandy and anyone else who allows the topic to come up, when I bring it up, I think I've shown remarkable restraint about the Nice Way Code. But it's bound to really annoy me at some point.

Anyway, a man from Lothian buses - maybe an off-duty driver or just some employee employed to monitor the rolling wall of buses on Prince Street - tried to be nice to me. As I was stopped behind a stopped bus, waiting for the lights to change, he came up to me and suggested that maybe I should just mount the pavement and go up to the lights. He may have been suggesting that I get off my bike and walk up to the lights but it wasn't all that clear. But I'm sure he meant well and that however I got off the road and got up to the lights it would be safer than cycling up between the two lines of buses that were jamming the road inching their way into the bus stops between other buses that were waiting to turn left. Of course, what I did was cycle between the two lines of buses.

What's amusing (if you can read that in inverted commas) is that the Nice Way Code has launched huge posters showing an adult on a kid's bike with the message "isn't it time you grew up and stopped cycling on the pavement". So, there you have it - man up and ride on the road but get off the road, it's too dangerous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.