Tall & Dead

The Streets Department takes a long time --too long --to remove dead trees from where they die. This dead London Plane at the end of my street looms over the trolley cables on Baltimore Avenue, so the transit authority may add to the bureaucracy. Sometimes the trees fall down in a storm before finally being removed.

Sometimes the locals prefer to leave them standing because insects and other living things make homes in the wood. It makes sense except for street trees, which should only look good, make shade, and let creatures do as they like on their limbs as they grow.

I notice these things because I enjoy working with trees and I notice how most people don't think about them in practical terms. I notice this tree every time I pass it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.