OMP

By OMP

Seeing an old pal through a new one.

I haven't seen a pileated woodpecker in months and it was a treat to see him today! It was an extra special treat to see him through my new lens. I've been hemming and hawing over a longer lens for bird/wildlife photography: telephoto, prime, Nikon, or other brand, how long is long enough, how large of an aperture do I need... the list goes on and on and I went round and round. Decision making is not my strong suit. I finally landed on Nikon's 300mm f4 prime with a 1.4 teleconverter (=420mm) and I'm very happy with it so far! (Even under harsh light, this turned out okay.) Check him out large. :)

I had been pretty house bound the last few days but felt much better today. (Thanks for all of the well wishes.) :) So today, while I waited for the UPS man to arrive, I tried to catch up on things that had been put off recently. How do I get so behind?? Of course he arrived late in the afternoon, but that is bound to happen when you are waiting for a package. (He's here by 10:00 am when it's Hub's work related packages...) That didn't leave me much play time, but I like what I see so far. :)) This lens has a much better/faster/quieter autofocus than my 70-300, I didn't notice any chromium aberration, it seems sharp and of course the extra reach is lovely! Unfortunately, I am tied up tomorrow for most of the day, so more playing will have to wait. :( Though it sounds like we may have a nice sunny weekend, so I'll get my chance to put it through the paces.

I'm a bit behind in commenting etc., but hoping to have some time tomorrow while I'm stuck in town. Thanks for being patient with me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.