Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

First Day At School

This is Orla and her friend Adam in the morning of their first school day. They are in different classes, but played together at break times. Orla says they went to Slide World, where there are thousands of slides, some of them reaching as high as the sky.

Orla went into her class absolutely no problem. We found her seat and there was a picture on the desk, so she started colouring in straight away. She is in the same classroom I was in when I started school in 1980. In fact, I think she is sitting in almost exactly the same place! My teacher was called Miss McDonald. Miss McDonald taught me and all my siblings and she also taught our dad. He was in the first class she took when she qualified. According to him, when he started school (in an old building long since demolished) there was no seat for him and he had to sit on the pipes. Miss McDonald is in her nineties now and lives across the road from my parents.

When we went back to collect Orla she came running across the playground towards us, brandishing a certificate for successfully completing her first day at school. She says they watched Cbeebies, sang Jack n Jill and played outside three times. She's going back next week.

Later on, whilst I was at Metafit, Orla decided to show off her "reading" (i.e. memory) skills to her Dad. Here's a video.

Meanwhile, Conor had fun with his reflection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.