Scolb

Ní hé lá na gaoithe lá na scolb

is a well-know Irish thatching-related saying which, roughly translated, means 'don't try and make a frame for your brassica netting in a howling gale and rain'. However, I have had this on my mind for a while and have forked out for some fancy rubber balls to help me replace my shoddy (yet relatively effective) existing arrangement. So I had get down there early on.

Got it done just in time for the proper rain (seen here in the distance). Having decided to have an indoor day, I'm a little 'disappointed' that it's been quite sunny for the afternoon. However, the latest beer is on the go and a variety of other minor tasks are done.

Note: Some versions are spelt 'Sgolb', but I'm not sure. I hope all those Irish Muinteoiri don't pull me up, or indeed for the lack of accents in 'muinteoiri'', as I still don't know how to do it in Blip, other than cutting and pasting.

Note: it means 'a windy day is not a day for the 'sgolbs', which are the fixings which hold the thatch down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.