Reasons to smile...

By Lauraiea

fireworks

We saw some amazing fireworks tonight. Great seats to see them up close. My travel companion's friend who lives here's family had got tickets for the best seats and she kindly let us have them. So it was interesting, her family didn't speak any english so lots of translating. I'm so impressed by bilingual people. She would go Japanese to English to Japanese in a sentence as her and her boyfriend communicate in both- they lived in New York for five years and also he is half English and half Japanese. She said a lot of emotions in english don't have a Japanese translation. I also learned today that during the war people here weren't allowed to speak English- they had to speak Japanese.

Chum one and chum two were in lots of pain and very tired today so I wandered alone for a while before fireworks. I'm a tiny bit sore particularly around my hips but they always have a bit of pain in them with any repetitive movement like walking, running or cycling. Apart from that, triceps a bit sore but can't think why. Blistered soles of toes and blowing ash out my nose. Fine otherwise. Could climb it again right now....

Ok maybe not!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.