Pau

By Pau

Cynicism of a homeowner in a nightlife district?


Not far from here in 1824 Ludwig van Beethoven composed his Ninth Symphony. The final movement is known as "Ode to Joy" (Friedrich Schiller), an enthusiastic celebrating brotherhood and unity of all mankind and 1972 adopted as the "Anthem of Europe".

Another cynical, characteristic viennese and very popular version from 1972 is called "Alle Menschen san ma zwider / All humans are to me abhorrent" by Kurt Sowinetz.

All humans are to me abhorrent
All human beings will become brothers
All? Humans? become more prudish?
Ah, All humans become brethren
Well we won't need judges because we have a golden heart!
We will get through everthing and then ascend skywards!
We all are good fellows and that's why we're fond of ourselves
Over here noone passes away without heirs weeping
Quiet! Quiet! I'll now translate this without embarrassing as i am
I wish you all a bunch of scabies, a tick in the ear and death
All humans are to me abhorrent, i would like to punch their mouthes
To me all humans are abhorrent, their mouthes i would like to punch
Father, Mother, Sister, Brother and the whole pile
All humans are to me abhorrent, if i see people i broil
What, you cannot like me aswell? And you say i'm not bright
But with such stupid people i won't argue for long
I am, they say a sourpuss, they say it's just enviousness
I say: you can bleat, but what do you do for comfort
It's really easy to grasp, smear your comfort into your hair
You won't capture any shirt from me, cause of that they go on about me, that's clear
All humans i'm abhorrent, they want to punch my mouth
I'm to all humans abhorrent, my mouth they want to punch
Father, Mother, Sister, Brother and the whole pile
All humans i'm abhorrent, if people see me they broil
Although i'm myself abhorrent, course of this i don't like myself
Now you think yourselves, blow me down, right? Now they assume me to be quite daft
Laugh if you like, you soap boiler, the laughter will die away
Regarding idiocy we're brothers, that you hopefully understand!
Therefore i show you again a mirror, one accurate
All humans are to me abhorrent, i would like to punch their mouthes
To me all humans are abhorrent, their mouthes i would like to punch
Father, Mother, Sister, Brother and the whole pile
All humans are to me abhorrent, i would like to punch their mouthes
punch their mouthes …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.