Great Grandparents.

This is Janet and Thomas Thompson. Both born in 1858, and married in 1879.
They had ten children, over 21 years. 7 boys and 3 girls. The first being born three months after they were married.
My grandfather was the second of the ten, and called Thomas after his father.
Both my great grandfather, and my grandfather were Brass Finishers, working for Clark Chapmen in Gateshead. When my grandfather started work, my great grandfather was his Foreman.
Janet and Thomas started married life in Newcastle, where they were born, but soon moved to Gateshead, where they lived for a long while in a two bedroomed flat. The girls slept in one room, and the boys in the other. The parents slept in the living room. They didn't move to a bigger house until some of the children were grown up.
Janet died in 1914, and Thomas in 1928.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.