stujphoto

By stujphoto

Two's Company - Three's a Crowd

I spotted these starlings when I was on my morning walk with my neighbour at Barns Ness. Initially I was shooting towards the sun so I was getting little detail in the birds so I made a wide detour for fear of disturbing them and approached cautiously. They are, in fact, part of a much larger group - ten on this telegraph wire and eight on an adjacent one but I moved in closer to focus on these three for my tag line.

Starlings are very distinctive, both by their speckled breasts and by the fact that they tend to flock together in large numbers. I remember counting as many as thirty on my lawn around the bird feeder once and thinking "Bang goes all the bird seed !" These must be Scottish traits I have acquired since moving up here some forty years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.