DaveH

By DaveH

By the good photographer again

I will (of course) normally post my own efforts at photography; but I was moved by the funeral of Henry Allingham yesterday.

Looking through M's Uncle Arthur's photographs the other day, I realised that Arthur was a year younger than Mr Allingham, and had also served in the Royal Navy Air Service in the First World War. So it's in tribute to all those servicemen that I decided to post this photograph.

It is at least possible that some of these guys were trained by Mr Allingham when the RAF was formed.

By that time, Uncle Arthur was on assignment as a photographer for the War Office. He would be sent to photograph the remains of Zeppelins that had been shot down over the south of England, zooming through the night in a big black car to get to the site!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.